AutoSave On By Default in Microsoft Software

0

Microsoft is in the process of enabling the Autosave feature in OneDrive and SharePoint by default.
The Autosave feature in both OneDrive and SharePoint has been disabled by default since I can remember; but now Microsoft has decided to enable it because of so many users complaining about losing information.
This means that your documents that are saved in OneDrive/SharePoint will be automatically saved every few seconds while you are working on them.
There is no easy way to turn this “feature” off, therefore we will have to make changes in the way we work with documents in Microsoft Office (Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Publisher, etc.).

AutoSave is helpful in most scenarios, but there a few cases where your users might need to change how they normally work and we want you to be prepared to help them. For each of the scenarios, we have outlined what the scenario is, what may go wrong and a recommendation for how to resolve it.
• Starting from an existing file, making edits and then doing a Save a Copy to a new file – Anyone who starts from a previous file (for example last quarter’s earnings report), edits, and then does a Save a Copy to start this quarter’s earnings report will cause the changes to be saved in both files if AutoSave is on. We recommend that everyone do the Save a Copy before making any changes and have even added a reminder in the product when this happens. If a user makes accidental changes, they should use the Version History feature to restore the original document.
• Performing “hypothetical” or “what-if” changes to a file – Anyone who opens a file and does some hypothetical analysis (such as forecasting the impact of market changes on the budget) with the desire to close the file without saving will have inadvertently saved all the changes to the file while AutoSave is on. We recommend turning off AutoSave while doing the hypothetical analysis and then turning it back on once the user is ready to save again.
• Dashboards and Viewing Files with Sorts/Filters in Excel – Anyone who sorts or filters a dashboard while AutoSave is on will affect the view of everyone else in the file. If a file is meant to be a dashboard or used by multiple people with sorts and filters, we recommend setting the Read-Only Recommended property on that file using File > Info > Protect Workbook > Always Open Read-Only, so viewers of the dashboard won’t save their changes unless they explicitly choose to edit the file.
• Finalized or Published Files – Anyone who accidentally edits a finalized, published file with AutoSave on will save their changes to the file. Once a file has been finalized, we recommend setting the Read-Only Recommended property or Mark as Final property on the file, so accidental edits from viewers and readers of the file won’t be saved.

Configuring AutoSave Settings In Office
AutoSave can be configured the following ways:
• The owner of a file can set it to Always Open Read-Only to help prevent accidental edits. This can be done by setting the file to open in Read-Only Recommended (File > Info > Protect Document/ Workbook/ Presentation > Always Open in Read-Only) or by Sharing the file without allowing others to edit (File > Share > People with the link can edit > Uncheck the “Allow Editing” box).

• You can turn AutoSave off for a file while it is open by clicking the AutoSave toggle. This disables AutoSave for the current document for that user. The next time the same user opens the document, AutoSave will be off. If they open a different document, AutoSave will not be affected by their choice in the other document.

• You can set AutoSave to be off by default for all files opened in that specific application (Word, Excel, PowerPoint) on that device.

Note: You can still set AutoSave to be on for individual files by using the AutoSave toggle described above.

Leave us a comment

logged inYou must be to post a comment.